Three more Astronauts

Early Sunday morning, I watched the (unmanned) SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket and Dragon capsule blow up 2 minutes after launch.  NASA TV broadcast live.  I saw the explosion and thought, “is that a stage separation?”.  When the voice of mission control didn’t say anything for about 30 seconds, I knew it wasn’t “nominal”.  It was very disheartening.  But no one died and it was only stuff that was lost.  Expensive stuff, but replaceable.

So I’m cheering myself up by finding more Astronauts on the Town!    I’ve grouped the astronauts by location.  Today was my Tukwila day.  First was the one at Southcenter Mall:  Ambassador for Amity by Elise Koncsek .  “One small step for a human; One giant leap for Community”.

These first two of the three have bits of photo collage.

Next up the road was the Starfire Sports complex.  It is huge, with many indoor and outdoor soccer fields and it’s where the Sounders train.

In the main lobby area I found Joni Mitchell by Christine Federhart.

By 1400, it was almost 90 degrees outside.  I was glad I didn’t have to be outside in the sun to sketch these astronauts.  The next one was at Tukwila Community Center.   Blast Off by P. Calavera

The total is now 7 our of 25.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Three more Astronauts

  1. miatagrrl says:

    The astronauts are all so different! Good work in your ongoing collection.

Leave a Reply

