Astronauts 10 & 11

This project is almost half way through the 25 astronauts.  I anticipate that by Friday, I’ll be past the half way mark.

Drove up 1st Avenue in Seattle to get two more astronauts that were somewhat close to each other.  First was up the far end of 1st, in Belltown, at the trendy Ace Hotel.

Milky Way by Steel/Wool

The Ace is actually a very pleasant, serene place.  I would stay there if I needed a place in Seattle.

Drove back south on 1st to the Pyramid Ale House in SoDo, near the sports fields.  I didn’t sketch my preferred view as I would have been in the way, standing in the entry.  So I sat at a close table, had some lunch, and sketched.


SpaceSquatch by David Newman & Ruth Cielo

As I continued back south on 1st, I stopped at the Mothership…. the Daniel Smith Seattle store.  I’m excited.  They are now stocking the Pentalic Aqua sketchbook!!  If you like the form factor of the Moleskine watercolor book, this is a much better choice.  The paper is 100% cotton, 140 pound watercolor.   They don’t have it (yet?), but it also comes in a pocket size.

Wandering the store, I saw they had a project going in the classroom.  It seemed to me this is setting up the watercolor display.

As I drove home, it was barely 80 degrees.  I thought this would have been the better day for my planned outing to Seattle Center to sketch 3 more astronauts.  Unfortunately, the rest of the week will be 90 degrees and above.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Astronauts 10 & 11

  1. Sandra Tascarini says:

    Are all of the astronauts listed somewhere with locations? I’m planning on going to Seattle for my daughter’s wedding on the 25th and am hoping to get some sketching and sight seeing done. Is it possible to visit them all in one day?

    Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®4

    • redharparts says:

      The list is here: http://www.astronautsonthetown.org/map/ However, it would not be possible to see all 25 in one day. They are spread over a large region: Everett to Auburn (50 miles, North to South and in Seattle traffic, min 2-3 hours travel time alone) and west over to Bremerton! However, if you are flying in, look for the one at SeaTac in the Central Terminal Food Court. http://www.astronautsonthetown.org/everyone-can-be-an-astronaut/ There are 3 at Seattle Center (which is where the Space Needle, EMP/Sci Fi Museum and Science Center are so a good spot for sightseeing and to get 3 astronauts!

      It’s taking me all summer to get them. I can send you a text file with them grouped by location (North, South, Central, etc). The map on the website is really annoying. Use the form on the “about me” page to email me and I’ll reply with the file.

      Also, Urban Sketchers Seattle is having a Sketch outing in Olympia on the 25th, but that seems to be the wedding day? On Friday, we’re sketching at Alki Beach: http://seattle.urbansketchers.org/p/adhoc-sketch-outings.html

      Let me know if you’d me to join you in sketching or even a few of us USk’ers.

Leave a Reply

