Occidental Park

Today’s Urban Sketchers Seattle Friday ad hoc outing was to Occidental Park in the Pioneer Square area.  I’ve been there perhaps once before but today I had more time to explore.  I satisfied myself with one good sketch and then walked around the area.

I must credit Vivian with spotting this view first!  She didn’t stay to sketch it so I did.  She moved on to a beautiful, ivy covered entry way.   This shows the view looking up from Occidental Park.  That’s the Columbia Center tower on the left and Smith Tower on the right.

But first, I am still enjoying the use of my “scribbler”.  My first sketch of the day was on the bus.  It’s a small Field Notes limited edition notebook with good paper.  My bus ride to the Light Rail was so short I only had time for this one sketch.  Squiggly lines = bumpy ride.

It was almost time to meet up again.  The band started up for the free concert.  Tubaluba (Jambalaya Brass Rock) performed.  It was loud.  The bass notes of the Tuba were rumbling in my chest.  But I stood to the side to get a quick sketch of the tuba player!

On the other side of the page is a sketch inside McCoy’s Firehouse Pub with firefighter memorabilia on the wall(s).

We met up to share sketches and get a group photo.

Me, Susan, Peggy, Michele, Frank, Tina, Vivian, Gwen (in back), Kathy, Susan, Marvin (in back), Sue.  Both Frank and Marvin were back with us after some absence.  Great to see them again!

I wandered all over a 2 block area.  On the basement level of an arcade, I found Ars Obscura Bookbinding and Restoration.  They were closed for the week.  So now I must go back sometime!     I peered through the shop windows and it looked wonderfully archaic!  (Do Not search for the website.  I’ve removed the link as the site has the logo of another organization and “Hacked by….” and other languages overwritten the text of the original site!)  The shop does have a blog which seems safe (as it’s hosted on another platform)

I found relatively acceptable German food. Late this evening I found this blog post, shared by a friend who also spent many years living in Germany.  “Why you will never be the same after living in Germany”.      The food at Alstadt was pretty good. I had schnitzel Wiener art with a side of Käsespätzle.  I would go back if I’m in the area again.  I took at least half my lunch home for Himself for dinner.  He liked it well enough, too.

Just as I was leaving, I encountered this painter who said he was there to paint the Piano in the Park.

All in all, a very pleasant day.

Lots of photos are here.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketch Crawl, Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Occidental Park

  1. Oh, no! I was so close, but did not see you and your Sketchers group. I walked past Occidental Park, but not through it, on my way to the Klondike Gold Rush Museum at 2nd & Jackson. A good day!

  2. miatagrrl says:

    Colorful sketch from the park! I was hoping to sketch that piano all morning, but I didn’t want to sketch it empty. Whenever I looked at it, no one was playing.

Leave a Reply

