48th WWSCD in Olympia

Urban Sketchers Seattle and Tacoma joined together for the 48th World Wide SketchCrawl Day in Olympia.  We met at the “Legislative Steps”… the large stairs into the Capitol building.

This facade is so impressive but I found it a little overwhelming in its architectural grandeur.  I sketched a side view with the dome from across the street.

As I’d arrived, staff at the Visitors’ Center told me that there would be a wreath laying ceremony at the Korean War memorial this morning.  It was in commemoration of the anniversary of the end of the war.  I was a bit late getting over to the site and the ceremony was all but over.  However, I had time to pay tribute with a sketch including the wreaths.  The flags are at half mast in honor of the military killed this past week in the shootings in Tennessee.

On the way back, I stopped for a moment of remembrance and honor at the Viet Nam memorial.  This is my era.

We met back on the Legislative Steps to share our sketches.  I’d seen Michelle taking photos at the Korea memorial and she stopped by to look at our sketches.  She took the group photos:

Then we went on the the Olympia Farmers Market.  It is the second largest in the state.  There is much more there than simply produce and they have a permanent structure.  We ate from the many food booths.

While we were having lunch together, Tina told us that the 2016 Urban Sketchers International Symposium will be in Manchester, England!!!  I am so excited.  I am already planning to go!  I’d just said to Tina yesterday, somewhat jokingly, “I wish they’d have it in Yorkshire”.  Well, Manchester is definitely close enough.  And USk Yorkshire will be helping in the hosting efforts.  Himself has already said he’ll go with me so we’ll probably make it a 2 or 3 week trip.  That way, we can see the friends we have in London and Wales.  These are friends from when I lived in Leeds, West Yorkshire,  a very long time ago!

At the Farmers Market, I again found the scene too  large and chaotic.  I followed Jane’s advice and just sketched a portion of one of the vegetable stands.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketch Crawl, Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 48th WWSCD in Olympia

  1. joantav says:

    I love your side view of the capitol…nice composition. Good job of focusing on only part of the display of the farm stand. They are so overwhelming and hard to narrow down a sketching choice.

Leave a Reply

