Day 2 in the North End

This is Thursday, August 6

First stop of the morning was the Museum of Flight Restoration Center.  The purpose of my visit was two fold.  First, to sketch the astronaut.  Second, to tour the facility.  I’ve heard for years that it’s a must-see, particularly for M of F volunteers.  So I finally got there.

My fist sketch of the day was the team painting the restored Boeing 727 #1.  It awaits engines and then it will be flown down to the Museum in Seattle to join the collection!

The same team is painting it as painted the 747.  I recognized them and they recognized me!  They are from Global Jet Painting, LLC

No Limits by Team Archimedes – Raisbeck Aviation High School

A model of the Aviation High School is placed behind the astronaut.

Their school motto: “The sky is not the limit”.

This one is my favorite, the one by the Raisbeck students. It has already been sold.  I don’t know its going price.  I hope the buyer gives it back to the school… that’s what I would have done if I’d been able to buy it.

Then on to the “Paint Out” in Mt. Vernon.  A sketching friend had told me about it but, unfortunately, she wasn’t able to be there.  I was rather disappointed to learn that no end of day gathering was planned to show each other’s work.  However, I met Kathy and had a good time talking and sketching with her!  Perhaps we talked a bit too much about our shared pasts in hospital work!  I sketched a street scene on 1st with a statue of some founding members.

Then on to my destination for the night in La Conner. After checking in briefly, I went out to walk around La Conner.  I went up and down the entire waterfront.

Katy’s Inn is beautiful and so comfortable.  Met the innkeeper, Kim and two guests who were friends.  We talked around the dining room table for 2 hours!

I shot lots of photos throughout the day.  This was the most photo heavy day.  All are here.  Restoration Center has its own album here.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

