Day 3 in the North End

This is Friday, August 7.

It was 53 degrees in the early morning, so I did not go out to sketch.  I had not really come prepared for such cool weather!  I didn’t even bring socks and wore only open sandals.

Breakfast was served at 0900.  Once again, the group of guests all talked for 2 hours.  We really enjoyed the company and conversation.  So I didn’t have time to sketch in town before meeting the Whidbey Island sketchers at the La Conner Pub.  We sat on the patio and it was a fun lunch together.

Then we finally got down to sketching.  Many of the group came on Paula’s boat.  I joined them in using it as a sketching platform.  It gave a good view of the pavilions designed to resemble traditional cedar hats of the Swinomish.  They were across the water on the Swinomish Community Center and Reservation.

I set off for Woodinville about 1530.  I had no idea there would be so many events and festivals going on.  I completely missed the turn to Red Hook brewery on my first pass through town.  It took about a half hour to get back due to all the festival traffic!  Red Hook itself must have had 2 or 3 different events going on.  What a zoo.  But I was directed to a parking spot and went into the pub to find the astronaut.  It was in a very unfortunate location…. it was so dark I could hardly see it.

Ziggy Stardust  By: Terry Blumer and Stephanie Hargrave

I headed for home after that, arriving about 1900.   A few photos from the day are here.

Only 2 more Astronauts and this project is done!

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Day 3 in the North End

  1. joantav says:

    What a change in temps for out there. You have really tracked down the astronauts…great job on this one even if the light wasn’t too good.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.