Lighthouse

The Tacoma Urban Sketchers were fortunate to have fine fall weather today for sketching at Brown’s Point Lighthouse.  It was bright, cool and breezy, feeling much like autumn.  It was very nice after the too hot summer.

The lighthouse is not quite as quaint as some.  So I chose as my first subject a man fishing.  I later spoke with him.  Noli finds this spot very relaxing.  He did catch 2 salmon but they got away.

While waiting for the watercolor to dry on my first sketch, I sketched another fisherman in my new, small sketchbook (more on that book in my next post).

I was sitting on the drift wood logs on the beach.  I composed my view of the lighthouse with the logs in the foreground.

There were several arrangements of sticks, stones and other items.  Before leaving the beach, I made my own contribution of a small cairn.

We had a group of 19 sketchers today.  There were lots of good sketches to admire.  It is so interesting to see the variety of viewpoints on the same location!

After the sketch outing, I skipped the group lunch at the Indian restaurant… too spicy for my bland palette.  I had already planned to drive up to the NW Glass Pumpkin Patch at Furney Nursery.   There are  hundreds of hand blown glass pumpkins.

I did a small drawing in my tiny watercolor sketchbook.

There are some more photos here.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Photography, Sketch Crawl, Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Lighthouse

  1. Fabio says:

    Great sketches!

  2. ….you have such a good eye and freely-interpreted hand–lovely.

  3. joantav says:

    I like the loose splattery look you did on the sketch of the lighthouse. Nice sketches!

    • redharparts says:

      Thanks. A friend and more experienced sketcher, Peggy H. taught me that. I flick a wet brush across a watercolor pencil. It gives very small splatters and is more controllable.

    • redharparts says:

      Thanks, Joan. It’s a technique a sketcher friend showed us…. wet brush used to splatter from the end of a watercolor pencil and it gives a little more control.

Leave a Reply

