Ferry Terminal

The ad hoc Friday Sketchers went to the Ferry Terminal and had a look at the sea wall construction.  All of us were rather overwhelmed by the chaos of the building site.  So we sketched other views.  Despite a bit of rain, we could shelter under the terminal.


Anne, Jenny, Gwen, Tina, Susan, Kate (Nina left early)

I sketched the view to the south with Century Link (“the CLink”) and SafeCo field.  And the cranes.  Always cranes in view!

Looking out the window of the terminal toward the construction site, with Gwen sketching the Great Wheel.

As I wrote in the corner of my sketchbook, I met Rita from the Vancouver Urban Sketchers.  I was sitting in the terminal doing this sketch when Rita approached me to ask whether I was going to the workshop on Bainbridge Island.  She was waiting to board the ferry for the Bainbridge and a weekend watercolor workshop.  We talked sketching and shared out sketchbooks.

Afterwards, Tina and I went to Ivar’s for lunch.  We sketched the back of the iconic Ivar statue as we couldn’t get to the front view.

This is a statue of Ivar Haglund (founder of local fish and chips chain, Ivar’s) feeding french fries to the gulls.  So, of course, doing so is encouraged on the outside patio at the cafe!

Keep Clam!  (that’s Ivar-ese for Keep Calm).

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketch Crawl, Sketches and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ferry Terminal

  1. Wha???? Whose idea was it to sketch the construction zone???? Glad you found Ivar and some other more attractive subjects to sketch.

Leave a Reply

