Three Days with Jane

Jane Blundell is an Australian artist and Urban Sketcher correspondent.  She’s been teaching at Daniel Smith this week and I took her second 2 day workshop.  She is known as the guru of color mixing.

Jane and Joe (from Daniel Smith) share sketching kits and tips

Daniel Smith made up a dot card sampler of her personal palette.

The most important skill I learned on the first day was how to use my watercolor brush.  You would have thought I might have learned this before.  I do not remember learning this in either of my two basic watercolor classes 4 years ago!  Jane fills the watercolor pans in her palette at an angle.  Then she twirls and drags her brush across the pan rather than dipping the tip into the color.  That makes such a difference it getting a good load of color on the brush!  I’d always wondered what I was doing wrong.

She has also changed my mind about mixing colors in the field.  She starts each sketch outing with a clean palette.  Her system involves just two color mixes and they are so much more vibrant and interesting than one color from the tube. We did some guided experimentation.   We learned about “Jane’s Gray” a mix of ultramarine and burnt sienna.

On day two of the workshop, we went outside to sketch the view just outside the Daniel Smith store.  Deborah, from the store, took a group photo, also!

After this workshop, I then went to a one day botanical sketching workshop the next day!

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Class, Sketches and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Three Days with Jane

  1. Fabio says:

    Excellent sketch, Kate!

Leave a Reply

