More sketching at the Museum

Sketching with Don Colley and a small group of Urban Sketchers at the Museum of Flight was a good end to my 11 day art marathon.

I met up with Frances and F. as we were all there early.   I sat to sketch this large view of this historic aircraft.  Then left to meet the group at 1pm and returned to my spot to finish the sketch.  In the mid-1920’s, the Boeing Model 80 was one of the first passenger aircraft.  It first flew in 1928 and carried 12 passengers.  This 80-A carried 18.  This is the only surviving example of the Model 80 series.

My second sketch was a view I’ve often thought to sketch.  It’s in a staff only bridge over the lobby and looks down on this reproduction aircraft.  This is my favorite of the day.

 


Me, F, Frances, Tina, Astronaut, Michele, Don Colley

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketch Crawl, Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to More sketching at the Museum

  1. joantav says:

    Great sketches! Love the second one done from above….cool!

  2. Michele says:

    Great account and sketches. Thanks for making this possible, Kate. So much to see, so much history upon which to contemplate! Love the sketch you did of The Dove!

Leave a Reply

