Day 2 in the Olympic National Park

Day 2 in the Olympic National Park.  It’s Tuesday, October 13th.  For our first full day, we went to Ruby Beach and the Hoh Rain Forest

At Ruby Beach, I did a sketch from above.

Then down on the beach, I sketched a cairn with the stacks in the background.

There were lots of cairns!

We had picked up lunch items at the Kalaloch Mercantile before we left for the day.  So we ate our lunch in the Ruby Beach parking lot.  Then on to the Hoh Rain Forest.

We saw an elk in the distance but couldn’t get a good look as he was deep in the underbrush.  So we carried on with a long walk through the dripping Hall of Mosses.  Once we finished, we encountered the elk again!  He seemed very habituated to people as he just walked out of the forest, down the sidewalk, across the street (stopping traffic) and then lay down on the grass in the median of the parking lot!

Right next to where he came out of the woods was an informational sign:  “Olympic Elk.  You might not see them now, but all around there is evidence of the resident elk herd….”   I found it rather amusing as the elk walked down the path a head of me.

He was still for quite a while so I could do a sketch.

A visitor came out of the forest and asked, “was that there before?”  He looked like a lawn ornament!

My photo host has changed and not for the better. I can no longer quickly, with a couple clicks, caption my photos.  As far as I can figure, it will take an hour and hundreds of clicks to caption these 70 images.  So, no more captions until they change the interface back to the old way of captioning.

Lots of photos here.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 2 in the Olympic National Park

  1. Paul says:

    Isn’t it great when the wildlife cooperate? Terrific pics and comments. I’m ready for an Olympic trip myself after reading about yours.

Leave a Reply

