In Steilacoom

Tacoma Urban Sketcher’s 3rd Wednesday sketch outing was at the historic Bair Drug in Steilacoom.  It’s now a charming restaurant but the original Bair Drug and Hardware Store was built in 1895.  It’s also a Living Museum, with the walls full of artifacts from the turn of the 20th century (1900).

Though there are so many interesting sketch opportunities in the shop, it was such a nice day I decided to sketch outside.  The old clock across the street caught my eye.  A clock also seemed appropriate as this is “Back to the Future” day.

With only a few minutes remaining, I walked down to Pioneer Orchard Park for a view of the Tacoma Narrows Bridge in the distance, across Puget Sound.

I had only a bit of time left to sketch because during a portion of the time allotted for our outing, I was a witness to a car accident.  It was a minor one and no one was hurt.  But since I saw it all, I gave my name as a witness.  One of the drivers involved worked for a government agency and the supervisor came to get a written statement, since I was still there.  Not the sort of excitement one wants to have.

We shared our sketches but didn’t gather for a group photo.  A few of us enjoyed a delicious lunch there at Bair Drug.

A few more photos here.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to In Steilacoom

  1. How nice! Happy Back to the Future Day! xo

  2. joantav says:

    Ah…a little excitement with the sketching. I like the idea of sketching the clock for Back to the Future Day. Nice!

Leave a Reply

