Textures in Watercolor

Earlier today I went to a demo at the Daniel Smith mothership titled  “Dynamic Textures in Watercolor” done by Janice Berkebile.  The demo description:  “Janice uses watercolor like the atmosphere uses clouds, wind and precipitation. She makes an event from colors dancing together. Janice introduces salts and a variety of tools to stretch the potential of each color into highly dynamic and compelling images. Be part of the excitement.”

First she demonstrated several techniques, using masque, plastic wrap, stencils, gesso, salt, alcohol and more.

examples of her work

Lots of water and paint and let the watercolor do what it will

stencils

spreading plastic wrap over wet paint to create texture

blowing bubbles onto the surface

Next, we got some hands-on time with paper, paint and all manner of stuff with which to manipulate the watercolor!

I used a stencil and dabbed on the paint through it using a paper towel (top) and a sponge (bottom)

Salt, top; plastic wrap, bottom

Janice uses these in her artist journals. That doesn’t fit how I work but I really like this process.  I’ll use them as cards.  I’ve already made 4 more to send out for Halloween plus I’m using one I made today as a birthday card.  I’m gluing a piece of smooth paper into the inside in order to have a better surface for writing.

As always, Janice is a excellent teacher who makes the class so much fun.  I really enjoyed this demo/workshop and will use these techniques.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Class, Crafts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Textures in Watercolor

  1. Interesting to see those techniques. BT just bought some D’S water colours today.

  2. Pat says:

    I always appreciate how willing you are to share the things you learn, Kate. There seems to be a new technique lurking around every corner…..I’m going to try the bubbles to see what happens!

  3. Sherlene says:

    This is fascinating! I find that I’m not much for drawing actual objects but I do like doodling with color and just making cards to send.

Leave a Reply

