Aircraft project

Once again, as I often do, I saw dawn.  This time I was out of the house and already at the Museum of Flight.  From the parking lot, I could see the tallest buildings in downtown Seattle, one of which was aglow with the reflection of the sun.  It almost looks like a rocket launch.

I was there for a staff meeting.  I also brought my sketch kit to go out into the WWI & WWII galleries to sketch.

A staff member had contacted me about doing some sketches for a project.  It has to do mainly with WWII.  So today I sat in the dark of the gallery and sketched this P-47D Thunderbolt.  I could hardly see my paper so I used the flashlight app on my phone!   I still have another one or two planes I want to sketch in that gallery, so next time I’ll bring my book light.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Aircraft project

  1. I’d never thought of taking a booklight to use in a dark gallery. Do you have problems with your eyes adjusting between the subject and your page?

  2. miatagrrl says:

    I remember how dark it was in that gallery! I found the exhibits to be pretty dimly lighted, not to mention my sketchbook. But you managed to get a good sketch there!

    Tina

  3. joantav says:

    I always admire your sketches of the planes. Using a book light is a good idea. I used one last night when I was out doing nocturnal painting at a marina. It was fine for my painting, but then it got too dark to see the subject. lol

Leave a Reply

