Bones

I went back to the Museum of Flight this afternoon, armed with my book light.  It really helped.

First, I sketched an aircraft I noticed yesterday would make a good entry into this week’s Urban Sketchers theme, “skeletons”.

Just as I was starting, I met Museum visitor John Connors.  Turns out he is a watercolor artist. His work was featured in PleinAir Magazine in the Feb/Mar 2015 issue!  He is also a commercial pilot.  We had a long talk about painting, materials, kit and his experiences as a pilot.

This Jenny lacks her fabric coverings.  Thus, we see the bare bones of the wings and fuselage.  A skeleton of a plane.


Curtiss JN-4D Jenny built as an Army plane at the Springfield Aircraft Co., Springfield, MA in 1917.  “It was a mass of battered parts and pieces when Paul & Lucy Whittier of Friday Harbor, WA, purchased it in 1982.  The Jenny was lovingly restored form plans and rebuilt using the materials and methods of the earlier era.  the project took more than 9,500 laborhours to complete.”

After a break for my eyes and a snack, I went back to the Personal Courage Wing to sketch another addition for my Museum magazine project.

This is the Curtiss P-40N Warhawk.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bones

  1. These are such wonderful sketches! Really nice work!! 😃👍🏻

  2. Pingback: Sharing and trading | Red Harp Arts

Leave a Reply

