Three icons

As is my habit, it seems, I arrived early for the Friday sketch outing.  I travel into Seattle by bus and light rail so I always leave early to allow for the time needed for public transportation.

I settled down to wait for the other sketchers and started sketch a view of the Bakery and Cafe in the Grand Central Arcade.  It’s just on Occidental Park in the Pioneer Square neighborhood of Seattle.   Soon after, I saw Gail, who came for the first time today (she is second from left in the group photo below).  Welcome and hope to see you again!

After a rainy and blustery start to the day, it turned sunny and warm by about 11am.  So I went out to sketch a view I noticed while walking over.  Here are three iconic structures:  on the left is an edge of the Columbia Center tower, the tallest in Seattle; in the middle is the “sinking ship” parking garage; at right is the lower portion of the Smith Tower, which, when built, was the tallest.

We met back to share sketches and pose for a photo.


Kate, Gail, Nilda, Natalie, Tina, Gwen, Susan (Kaye had to leave early).

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Journal, Sketches and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Three icons

  1. joantav says:

    Your group impresses me so much that you go out no matter what the weather is like. I would be sitting in my car sketching but you always venture out…and then into an indoor location if needed. I like the range of sizes of the buildings in your sketch and the one of the bakery. I’m sure the aromas were as great as your sketches.

  2. Ha ha , we’ve just shifted our sketch outing today indoors due to forecast rain, and of course now the sun is shining brightly!

Leave a Reply

