More book making

Janice Berkebile demonstrated making a Linen Travel Journal today at Daniel Smith mothership.  It’s one method of making a case bound book.  Along with the long-stitch leather journal she taught earlier in the year, I think this one could be another favorite!

I see several possibilities for adaptations to make it exactly the kind of sketchbook I like.  For example, I’d put elastic on the unbound end rather than using a ribbon to keep it closed.  I have linen in other colors, too.

The workshop is in two weeks and I’m really looking forward to it!  It’s all day, December 4th.


Here is where I would put in an elastic band on the right rather than using the ribbon.  It would be more utilitarian but not as pretty.

A few more photos here.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to More book making

  1. We found plenty of how to videos on YouTube for inserting elastic bands when we made our sketchbooks. Also next time I might add one to the front cover as I use the back one to hold down my page when I paint/draw and it annoys me that the left hand page just flaps around untethered. Worth thinking about. ☺

Leave a Reply

