Visiting sketcher

Urban Sketchers are an hospitable lot.  When ever a sketcher is in town visiting, we’re happy to organize a sketch outing with them.  This week we have Laurie from San Francisco here and we met up at the Burke Museum on UW campus.

As usual, I was a bit early, despite nasty traffic and a stop at an art store in the U district.  So I had a coffee and quickly sketched a detail of the fireplace in the Museum cafe.

I’ve sketched there a couple times.  Today I chose a couple First Nations artifacts.  From the card:  this sea lion once rode a house ridge in the Tlingit village of Tongass (AK).  It was illegally removed [stolen] in 1899 by a group of Seattle businessmen on a totem poke hunt. … The Burke Museum was given permission to display the sea lion by the late Esther She, Taantakwaan (Tongass) matriarch.  The museum plans to return it to the Taantakwaan.

It was cut from the top of this house, which you might be able to see in my photo of a grainy photo in the exhibit.

I had dressed for very frosty weather, so I was a bit too warm in the Museum.  Plus I’d noticed a couple views outside I wanted to sketch.  This is the entrance to the university, with a large W.

Met back up to share sketchbooks.

Our visitor is Laurie, standing, second from right.

Next stop:  tomorrow at MOHAI!

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketch Crawl, Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Visiting sketcher

  1. joantav says:

    Great indoor and outdoor sketches, Kate! Your group is always so welcoming.

Leave a Reply

