MOHAI

Yesterday morning I left the house at 0730 to take public transport to a seminar in the South Lake Union area.  I arrived a bit early, so had time to check out Serious Pie and Biscuit and to sketch the pizza oven.  It’s one of the several restaurants by one of Seattle’s famous chefs, Tom Douglas.

The colored balls set on the stones of the oven are Christmas tree ornaments.

After the meeting, I moved on to MOHAI to meet our visiting San Fran Sketcher, Laurie.  Three others joined us: Frank C., Helen and Vivian.

I’ve been there many times before but still strolled the exhibits as many had changed.  This I resembled, at one time.  I even had a vest almost exactly like this one!

They had only one Victorian dress on display.  I know they have many more as, with Fort Nisqually volunteers, I was able to visit their archive in Georgetown and see many more of the clothes they have.  Visitors to MOHAI will see only about 2% of the museum’s total collection at any given time.

There was just a touch of Christmas, this wreath on the Seattle Fireboat, Duwamish.

More photos here https://redharp.smugmug.com/MKB/2015-1201-MOHAI/

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketch Crawl, Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to MOHAI

  1. OMG, I love your Victorian dress illustration and that boat – what wonderful holiday cards these would make, too!

  2. joantav says:

    Glad you got a second day of sketching with your visitor. I love the sketch of the Victorian dress with all the ruffled detail on the skirt. I can imagine walking around in something that takes ups so much space. I too had a similar outfit to the one with the fringed vest. I had tie-died pants. lol

    • redharparts says:

      I also have an set of Victorian-era clothes…. corset and 4 petticoats! It’s for 1850’s American west interpreting at a Fort. It does take up a lot of space and requires a different way of moving.

Leave a Reply

