It’s beginning to look a lot like…

Christmas at the mall.   Outside, it’s beginning to seem like we might need to build an ark soon.  Yesterday had the most rainfall in Seattle for any Dec 7 ever!  I braved the deluge to go to Southcenter Mall to sketch.  It just so happens that this week’s Urban Sketchers flickr them is “shopping centers”.

I’d not gone out to sketch in a week.  I really felt the need and I’d not yet done any Santa sketching.  I would like to know whether Puget Sound area has any unusual Santas….. such as Portland’s hipster Santa or Toronto’s Fashion Santa!  But this was a regular Santa.

This is different from previous year’s set up.  I wondered whether the mall company moves these displays around so each mall in the company has a fresh setting every year?

These were all around the Santa Village.  Security at this mall will usually stop people from taking photos.  I guess it’s OK, for now.

I was surprised by how full of people the place was…. on a Tuesday afternoon.  I had trouble finding parking the one of two garages….. I wanted to be under cover due to said deluge.

I first drew the back side of the Santa village

Then I stood to draw Santa’s area.  I spoke with him a little. He asked one of the elves to invite me to show him what I was doing and then he showed me an image of an excellent charcoal sketch someone had done of him.

I noticed this on my way through and stopped to sketch the  Santa Cow on my way back to the car.  The counter staff told me this one’s name is “Woody”.

with a bit of photo collage for the B&J sign.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches, Weekly Theme and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to It’s beginning to look a lot like…

  1. …you have such a great knack for getting things just right

  2. joantav says:

    The Santas setups in the malls here are boring and have been the same for the past few years. Good sketches from the mall…love that cute cow!

    • redharparts says:

      I agree. Wish we had the cool Santa’s I linked in my blog post! And I wish I’d gone to the Museum of Flight today. Couldn’t have sketched Santa’s arrival in a private plane as it was pouring rain. But could have sketched him sitting under the big American Airlines craft in the Great Gallery. The info on the event said Santa would be in one of the private meeting rooms, so I didn’t think I could get in. Sigh. He was in the open gallery.

  3. Pingback: At the Mall | Red Harp Arts

Leave a Reply

