The Old Cannery

It is SO much more than a furniture store.  What an unusual place!  From the talking moose to the animatronic chickens there was so much to sketch it will require several more trips!  I could have even bagged the USk flickr weekly theme – “Organs” – as there was a small pipe organ!  I didn’t sketch it first and then I had to leave for an unexpected meeting!

the chickens… they cluck and move

Lots of photos of this crazy place here   https://redharp.smugmug.com/SketchOutings/2015-1216-The-Old-Cannery/

I was there quite early so I wandered the entire place.  For my first sketch, I picked what I thought was the oddest thing there:  Snoopy and Woodstock in the Sopwith Camel!  Half way through drawing this sketch, I had to laugh at myself.  I volunteer at the Museum of Flight in Seattle (my regular readers know this).  I do a lot of sketching of airplanes there during my other visits!   So what do I draw when I’m in a furniture store….. an airplane!

The entire showroom floor is actually several huge rooms.  It was all decked out for Christmas.  So my next sketch was one of those displays.  Cow and sleigh.

We enjoyed free Keurig coffee.  For our sketch sharing the store provided some fudge samples!

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketch Crawl, Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Old Cannery

  1. joantav says:

    Looks like a fun place to sketch. Love that cow pulling the sleigh. Good sketches! You could probably sketch an airplane with your eyes closed.

Leave a Reply

