Christmas at the Stone House

Prior to my Museum shift, I took a breakfast detour to the Stone House Bakery.  I wanted to see and sketch the Christmas decorations.  It was beautiful and charming.  All photos here:
https://redharp.smugmug.com/MKB/2015-1217-Stone-House-Bakery/

I had a delicious egg, cheese and sausage puff pastry for breakfast while I sat across from the fire to sketch the fireplace.  Patrick Choy (owner and baker) is also delightful.  He settled me comfortably in a chair in the front room so I could sketch.

I noted he’s offering Gingerbread House parties this weekend:

Start with this

and finish with this

I had some new Daniel Smith iridescent gold watercolor that I wanted to try in this sketch, so I drew it at the bakery but colored at home.

I don’t know why I didn’t think before about stopping in on my way to the Museum.  But I’ll do it again next week to pick up some of Patrick’s bread pudding for Christmas weekend!  He told me he’s going to close the bakery in January for some time off and also continued work on the building.  I’ll look forward to stopping in regularly on Thursdays beginning again in February!

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Christmas at the Stone House

  1. Linda Tuell says:

    Love your sketching style…always lovely, full of character, fun portrayals of whatever your subject is!! Thanks for always sharing! Linda Tuell, Gig Harbor

Leave a Reply

