New Filofax notebook

Filofax has a fairly new notebook with movable pages.  The system is similar to Arc (from Staples) and Circa (from Levinger).  It is more compact as it has something like a spiral binding rather than large discs.

I really like being able to move pages around.  Ring binders are cheap and easy to find.  But they are thicker than I want.  Disc binding systems (Arc & Circa) are better but the discs do get in the way.  The Filofax is very sleek and slim.  It lies flat and folds over nicely. Ring binders don’t fold and only some of the Circas do.

The Filofax notebooks come in 2 sizes and 7 colors.  Pocket is 144mm x 105mm (5.67 x 4.13 inches).  The A5 is 214mm x 161mm (8.43 x 6.34 inches).

I bought mine from the Goulet Pen Company.  I chose the A5 in classic black.   At $18.95, the cost is similar to an Arc leather cover.  This is leatherette but it comes with more accessories.

As it comes, wrapped in plastic.

Several pages of sample paper are included.  The choices are lined, grid and blank.

The package includes colored dividers, one of which has a pocket.  Also included is a bookmark/ruler.

It has a notch to hold the strap in place.

Here is the test.  I have both Arc and Levinger punches.  Both match the Filofax exactly, punched at the Junior mark.  This is a half sheet of standard 8.5 x 11 inche paper.  One small problem:  the paper is just a tiny bit too large… about 1/8 inch.  I can either purchase refills or just punch my own if I don’t mind a tiny bit of overhang.   At left is the sheet I punched to add.

Here is a close up of the overhang:

I had previously discovered that similarly sized Week-at-a-Glance calendar/planner pages work, too.  They have holes for 7 ring binder but can be punched with the Arc/Levinger punch and fit right it…. also with the small overhang.

I’m going to just deal with the overhang and see how it works.  I have a few pieces of watercolor paper in a the folder, 3 months of weekly calendar, and pages for notes.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Crafts, KIt and Supplies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to New Filofax notebook

  1. miatagrrl says:

    I saw this on Goulet and wondered about it . . . Looks cool and very flexible, although I’m not sure how I would use it. How are you using it? Like a planner/journal?

    Tina

  2. redharparts says:

    I haven’t yet started using it. Planning to use it as an all around paper notebook, what with the dividers. Notes for various activities all in one place rather than all the separate pocket Moleskine cahiers I have. I may even have some watercolor paper. I’ve used the Circa as a journal but even the 3/4″ discs are annoyingly large and in the way.

  3. Pingback: Filofax set up | Red Harp Arts

  4. redharparts says:

    See next post in which I trim the page by 1/8th inch. Works just fine in either Circa or Arc punch. https://redharparts.wordpress.com/2015/12/28/filofax-set-up/

Leave a Reply

