2015 in filled books and journals

It’s officially New Year’s Eve, being 00:15 as I write this.  Time to review the journals and sketchbooks I’ve filled this year.

There are 11 full journals.  There is one Moleskine and the rest are Rhodia.  Except for 2 periods in which I experimented with disc bound Arc notebooks.   If you think that’s a lot of writing, it might be.  But I use these as Commonplace Books into which I also add articles on which I comment, bits of ephemera, souvenirs, etc.

Several of 2015’s sketchbooks were ones I made myself.  In the back, from left, there is a Starthmore and 2 of my handmade ones.  In the middle is a Stillman & Birn, handmade, and a landscape Pentalic Aqua.  Two books on the right were used exclusively at Drink and Draw.

In front are some loose sheets punched for Arc, with which I experimented.  Then there are 2 pocket sized Aqua’s and a pocket Moleskine I filled this year.  Finally, my current hand made one and a cover for a pocket sketchbook that lives in my purse.

Before the end of 2016 I will have run out of shelf space.  At least the shelf space I have allocated at this point.  I want to start purging items I’ve not used in a few years, so that could clear up some space.  Still, I will eventually run out of shelf space.

I have no one in particular to whom to bequeath all these sketchbooks.  I’ve tentatively decided that once the space for them is full, whenever that happens, I’ll start giving away single sketches, starting with the earliest ones.  My plan at this point is to offer individual original sketches to family, friends and social media followers.  What is left after that will be abandoned for the public, as in my Art Abandonment group.

Happy New Year.  Let’s start out to fill even more books next year!

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in KIt and Supplies and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 2015 in filled books and journals

  1. miatagrrl says:

    I love seeing all your filled books! And I’m impressed that you have already thought about what to do with the sketches before you leave this world. I haven’t thought about it at all!

    Tina

  2. joantav says:

    It is amazing to see all the journals you filled this year. I have so many I don’t know what to do with them…same with paintings. I keep joking that my husband can give them away at my funeral. lol

Leave a Reply

