Sharing and trading

The Friday ad hoc group of Urban Sketchers Seattle met at a Ravenna area library branch.  This was our third annual “Gab and Grab” and our only non-sketching event during the year.

We started with going around the table, sharing our favorite bit of kit we’ve used this year.  I shared my mega case from Jet Pens, the Molotow masking pen and my board with hole cut for a water bottle (a la Leslie Fehling)

Darsie shared the Field Easel bag he designed.

John was new to the group today.  I met him at the Museum of Flight back in October when I was sketching in the WWI gallery.  He shared his amazing MacGyver’ed sketch kit, based on an old cigar box.

They we put all the art supplies out on the table to share and trade.

I traded with Steve Reddy a big tray of colored pencils for a big tray of watercolor pencils.  And I gave away a lot of things I no longer wanted.  Leftovers go to Tinkertopia in Tacoma!

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Urban Sketchers and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sharing and trading

  1. How nice! Glad you got something new that you liked and were able to make a good trade. Very interesting met up!

  2. Sounds fun and like something we might try with our group.

  3. joantav says:

    Great idea for a swap and share!!!

Leave a Reply

