Street Car

With the spring-like weather, I decided today would be the best day to try out the brand new First Hill Streetcar.  I took the bus over to the Light Rail at Tukwila.  I took that to the International District Stop.  Just outside the station was the streetcar stop.  It’s free until 2/16 so there were lots of people giving it a try out.

I found it rather slow.  The Streetcar has to travel in regular traffic with autos.  It is certainly more relaxing than driving and finding parking!   They’re supposed to run every 12 minutes but I know I waited much longer than that… almost 20… for the return trip.

Each station has a map with information about what is in the area around the stop.

I rode it all the way to the end at the Capitol Hill Station on Broadway and Denny.   Along the way, we passed Dick Blick.  After we arrived, I did a sketch.

Then I went to Blick, looked around but didn’t buy anything.  I realized that just around the corner is Elliot Bay Books, so I went over there.  This would be an easier way to get there for readings and other events.

This will be a very useful addition to my transportation options.  I look forward to the extension of the line further into Capitol Hill.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Street Car

  1. miatagrrl says:

    Good report of your ride. I hope to ride it sometime soon, too. Looks like the street car sat at the end of the line long enough for you to sketch it!

    – Tina

    • redharparts says:

      I did have to wait through 2 cars. I got a pencil outline of the first car done. While waiting, I worked on the environment around the car and then finished the ink drawing of the 2nd street car

  2. Deb Breton says:

    Love your streetcar. I must say, I admire anyone who can leave dickblick without anything!😉

Leave a Reply

