Raining Cats and Dogs

It was raining cats and dogs in more ways than one yesterday at the Museum of Flight.

Feather and I had arranged to meet up for the “AirMail Valentine Doggie Delivery with Wings of Rescue”

Due to the foul weather, the arrival of the several aircraft was delayed until 1500.  We’d arrived at Museum opening, 1000.  Thus, we had a few hours until the event.  Of course, we sketched!

I’ve done a lot of sketching there.  I decided to go up to the WWI gallery as I’ve sketched there the least.  My first choice was the Museum’s reproduction of the Nieuport type 24 bis.  This is a French aircraft but it was used by many nations.

Pictured with the original aircraft is French ace, Paul Albert Pierre Tarascon who lost his right leg in a crash in 1911.  He was called “the ace with a wooden leg”.

French Aviator’s Tunic, c. 1916

Feather chose to sketch the frightening visage of the Lockheed M/D-2 Blackbird.

We took a break for lunch.  The Museum’s Wings Cafe was crowded.  A couple of very pleasant women joined us.  Turned out they were volunteers for one of the shelters there to pick up pets flying in on “Wings of Rescue”.  They are from Sunny Sky’s Animal Rescue in Puyallup

Back for more sketching after lunch.  I roamed the NW Modelers’ show in the well of the Great Gallery.  But when I saw Pat working on the wiring of a model of the starship Enterprise, I had found my next subject!

Finally, right at 1500, the first aircraft arrived.  It was pouring rain the entire time they off loaded about a hundred cats and dogs… hence my title.  Five aircraft arrived but two had to turn back due to the weather.  The arrival was so late they did not bring any of the animals into the museum as had been originally planned.  So we didn’t get to sketch them as it was far too wet outside. They carried them directly to the waiting shelter vans.  Feather even helped out our new friends at Sunny Skys!  (I’m allergic, so I did what I could without touching anything!).

We had a good time despite being soaking wet and cold after 1.5 hours outside with the dogs!

All photos here

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Photography, Sketches and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Raining Cats and Dogs

  1. joantav says:

    They may have been delayed but you found great subjects anyway! Great sketches.

Leave a Reply

