Two Red Bridges

It almost feels like spring!  With the bright sun and briefly, even 60 degrees, I couldn’t let the day pass without going out to sketch. But where?  After considering a number of locations, I decided on Kubota Garden.

I was there last June with the Urban Sketchers Seattle’s Friday group.  We went to sketch the new Terrace Overlook.  I remember wandering the garden with a map I couldn’t quite follow, looking for the bridges.  It was so hot and I got so tired, hungry and thirsty that I gave up.  So those bridges became today’s objective.

Moon bridge

Heart bridge

More bridges of a different sort.  I saved them to sketch next time I’m there.

And I succeeded in finding both bridges.  I did something that has often been recommended but which I never do:  thumbnail sketches for composition and values.  I guess I should do that more regularly as I liked today’s results.

Moon bridge “symbolizes the difficulty of living a good life. ‘Hard to walk up and hard to walk down'”.  It is very steep and actually is hard to walk over.

Heart bridge crosses the creek.  It is like a traditional red bridge on Mr. Kubota’s home islands.

More photos here.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Two Red Bridges

  1. Very nice scenes you capture both in photos and with your art

Leave a Reply

