Greetings from Georgetown

Another nice day so I spent the afternoon sketching outside.  I went in search of a new mural in Georgetown, an old neighborhood south of Seattle.  I couldn’t find it driving so I got out of my car.  It was on the back side of the building, which wasn’t marked street side with address or name.  I didn’t find it very “sketchable” as I didn’t want to copy someone’s art.

The area was interesting and had some sculpture studios.  More photos here.

I decided to go to the main area of Georgetown.  I found another mural, part of which ended up in my sketch.  It shows the Hat and Boots, an iconic roadside attraction from a local gas station, restored and moved to a park. 

This neighborhood is a little gritty and industrial.  Large aircraft fly low overhead, on approach or taking off from Boeing Field.  Due to the noise, this leads to what locals call “the Georgetown pause”… a halt in conversation until the noise passes.  A freeway overpass also covers part of it.

My main subject was the yellow moped on the roof.  I’ve admired it for quite a while now and always intended to sketch it.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Greetings from Georgetown

  1. It never ceases to amaze what you can find to sketch.

    • redharparts says:

      Ha! Georgetown neighborhood is a good source of funky weirdness!

      • I try and encourage our group to think more widely about what we can draw, but many people seem to think urban sketching = drawing in coffee shops. We will have to try harder!

      • redharparts says:

        And it doesn’t even have to be “urban”. People who live in small towns or even in the country can sketch country scenes…. it’s all about “See the world, one drawing at a time”.

      • Part of the problem is that some people have only joined the on-line section of our group so don’t get out to meet the other people and despite us being named UrbanSketchers Canberra many don’t seem to have taken in that we ard part of a much larger group. Anyway we are just a year old so we are really making quite a bit of progress overall.

Leave a Reply

