My anniversary

It was on this date 4 years ago that I attended my very first sketch outing with Urban Sketchers Seattle.  That one was the Stinson Mansion.   What a wonderful journey it has been.  I am so glad I found this group.  It has made my retirement so much more interesting, fun and rewarding.  I treasure the people I’ve met through this group.

I really wanted to try sketching this view of the 3 story atrium.  I decided I would get a sore neck if I tried, though.

I’ve sketched there 2 times before.  That, combined with another nice morning, led me to sketch outside.  I have long admired this view from the 2nd story bridge between the hotel and the shopping center.

Today’s sketch outing was the 3rd time we’ve gathered to sketch the Wintergrass bluegrass festival in Bellevue, WA.  There are musicians everywhere in the halls holding impromptu sessions.   Once back in side, I quickly sketched this group and enjoyed listening to them.

There were fewer of us than usual today.

Still, we had a good time and went to lunch together, too.  Then Feather and I checked out a paper store but I didn’t find it very interesting after all.  Next, we took a swing through the Bellevue Art Museum (I have a membership to another museum that gets me in free).  I do want to return for an exhibit they’ll have next month, though.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketch Crawl, Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My anniversary

  1. and since then you have graced WP with your impressive sketches ❤
    thank you very much for sharing your magnificent pieces here
    ;D

  2. Peggy says:

    A nice summary of a lovely day. Thanks!

  3. Happy Anniversary! It’s good to hear how much you have enjoyed the group and what a great advertisement you are for the Urban Sketching movement. 😊🎉

Leave a Reply

