A new milestone

Stephanie Bower was teaching her “Good Bones” workshop in Seattle again this weekend.  I took it about a couple years ago.  (she’ll be teaching a couple different versions later in the Spring:  http://www.stephaniebower.com/workshops.html and for those who can’t make
it to Seattle, she has a Craftsy class )

I’m a big fan.  She really helped me with perspective in that workshop.  And I admire her art a great deal.

Today was a half day in the field with her workshop.  She invited Urban Sketchers to join the group and I did.  It was a good day to be inside the gorgeous Victorian interior of Seattle’s Amtrak station as it was pouring buckets of rain much of the morning.

On the way from the light rail station to King St., I passed over the pedestrian bridge and watched some crows for a few minutes.  I also saw an Eagle being pursued noisily by a flock of gulls.

Photos from the workshop:

Stephanie teaching and discussing sketches

Stephanie Bower (kneeling on right) with the workshop group.

I guess I was inspired by the workshop.  This sketch is rather a milestone for me.  I think this is the best perspective sketch I’ve done.  Ever.

All photos are here  https://redharp.smugmug.com/SketchOutings/2016-0306-Stephanies-workshop/

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketch Crawl, Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A new milestone

  1. Alissa Duke says:

    Beautiful sketch ! I linked through to your blog from Stephanie Bowers facebook post. I am really looking forward to doing her Soaring Spaces workshop at Manchester Urban Sketching Symposium. If the results are half as good as this I will be pleased. I am confused by interior spaces at the moment. Glad to have discovered your blog too !

    • redharparts says:

      Thanks very much, Alissa. Stephanie’s paintings are amazing and she is such a good teacher! I hope to be at Manchester, too. I’m registered for an Activities pass.

  2. joantav says:

    Wow!!! You nailed this! Great job, Kate. I started her Craftsy class and then the holidays got in the way and I haven’t found my way back yet.

  3. Wow, Kate. Your sketch is incredible. The perspective and golden touches just draw me in. I love it. I am going to see if there are any other classes with Stephanie that I can take. Thanks for this post!

Leave a Reply

