Sketching Rainbows

As we normally do during winter and shoulder seasons, we planned an indoor venue for today’s Urban Sketchers Seattle ad hoc outing.  However, we had a taste of summer…. bright sun and over 70 degrees.  We planned to meet inside Elliot Bay Books on Capitol Hill.  But nearly everyone decided to sketch outside.

I had my eye on the rainbows.  These weren’t the rainbows in the sky after rain.  These are rainbow crosswalks.  They were painted in June 2015 in celebration of Gay Pride week.  “The city picked locations by working with community members to pinpoint heavily used streets and spots that have been sites of assault based on sexual orientation, Murray [Seattle Mayor] said.”

The first one is on the walk to Blick’s art store.  I also liked their paint tube & palette sign!   I plopped myself down on the sidewalk.  I was nearly done with the ink sketch when some workers asked me to move so they could spray away the dog poo on the curb!  Gladly!

Thanks, guys!

The second location I spotted while doing a walk around after having arrived early.  It’s near the Comet Tavern.

Once back in the bookstore, I noticed Steve Reddy’s books on a shelf.

middle shelf, two books on the right

We shared sketches at a table in the Oddfellows cafe inside  Elliot Bay books to share  A few of us stayed for lunch there.

More photos, including some of nearby Cal Anderson park.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketch Crawl, Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

