Trailer Park Mall

After meeting Daniel Smith, four of us from Urban Sketchers Tacoma had a brief sketch outing in Georgetown.

This is a very funk, artsy neighborhood, south of Seattle.  I’ve heard it described as the oldest neighborhood of Seattle.  It’s my go-to place for urban sketching.

I chose the Trailer Park Mall as my subject.  I’ve sketched there before but never on a Saturday when they were open.  The weather was summer-like so many people were out and about and hanging out.

I was pleased to discover The Conservatory is finally open.  I’ve walked by it for years, wondering if it ever was.  The man in the cafe said they’d been open for 7 months.  And I was delighted to learn they host a Drink and Draw!  It is every other Sunday afternoon, 3-6pm, $10, long and short poses. Models are in costume.

the stage, viewed from one of the tables.

Their website is nearly useless.  The guy told me the Drink and Draws are posted to their Facebook page’s “Events” section.  Click the “More” button to find the”Events” page.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketch Crawl, Sketches and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Trailer Park Mall

  1. aduke2015 says:

    Great discovery ! If I was there and not in Australia I would go ,

Leave a Reply

