Armored Andy

Art Thing 2 for today.

The Conservatory is a combination cafe and atelier in the Georgetown neighborhood of Seattle.  For a couple months now I’ve been aware they host drawing sessions of models in costume.  Today was my first chance to go.

I’ve been missing drawing costumed  models ever since the AFK Drink and Draw folded because AFK lost their lease.  This session seemed less light hearted…. the AFK group had been meeting for a couple years, knew each other pretty well so there was a lot of talking and joking.  This group was more serious.  More drawing, less talking..  And I was the oldest one there by decades!  But who cares.

The physical plant was better.  There was a slight stage, more space for artists and the lighting was better.  It is some Sundays each month, from 1500-1800.  Today was “short pose” which was from 1 to 15 minutes.  As with AFK, I did fast pencil sketches and then switched to ink and watercolor for the longer ones.

Andy was our model today.

Next week is Greg Robin (or “Sir Brand”, as I know him) as his alter ego, Ben Franklin.  At it will be long pose…  3 hours for one pose!  I’ve never done such a thing before.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Drink and Draw and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Armored Andy

  1. You’ve captured those poses really well. My partner and I are going to a similar event this week which I am looking forward to. I have never done sketchjnb of a 3 hour pose. I presume you’ll move around and draw from different perspectives. Sounds challenging.

    • redharparts says:

      I’ve never done a 3 hour pose before either. I suppose studio watercolorists could take the entire time to do a painting. I’m more of a watercolor sketcher, so I suspect I’ll be doing shorter paintings and I will move about the room for a different view. There were plenty of chairs today so I think I’ll be able to do that.

  2. These are great, Kate! You did a great job on him and his costume. I’m with you…can’t imagine sketching the same pose for 3 hrs. Your plan to move around the room sounds good.

Leave a Reply

