Social Watercolor

Today I was able to get out for two art things.

Thing 1 was my first “Social Water Color” ** gathering at the Daniel Smith mothership in Seattle.  After the horrendous news earlier this am, it was good to get away from the real world for a while.

DS had Stephanie Bower’s new book in the Urban Sketching Handbook series, Understanding Perspective available for purchase 3 days earlier than its official release date!  I was glad I didn’t pre-order it.  I bought it there at DS!

and they have Stephanie’s favorite sketchbook, the Pentalic Aqua, back in stock finally.

This is a delightful program.  Justin from DS first discussed the pros and cons of various sketchbooks we might use for journaling.

Then we worked on our own projects and talked about journaling and materials.  Jodi had some Strathmore Aquarius II watercolor paper for us to try. Of course, she had a supply of paints and brushes, too, for those without.   I used that paper to do the still life of pears in a basket that was on the table. 

I’m going to make this a regular practice.

** When I typed “Social W” the motor memory in my fingers typed “Social Work”
and I’d have to backspace to type “Watercolor”.  For decades as a Social Worker,  Social, followed by a word that started with “W” was “Social Work”.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Class, Journal, Studio and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Social Watercolor

  1. Oh it would be so much fun to visit DS for one of these sessions. At least we can enjoy through your post. Thanks.

  2. Jodi says:

    So glad you joined us. These sessions are all about having fun while painting – meeting other artists and trying new things (or working on current projects).
    They are a great way to keep your brush moving! Next Sunday (June 19) we’ll experiment with textures.

  3. You are so lucky to be near the Daniel Smith store and be able to take advantage of their programs as well as shop.

Leave a Reply

