Art All Day

Today was a day of making art three different ways: painting from a photo; doing an “urban sketch” on location; sketching and painting from a live model.

It was another fun morning with Jodi Steele at Daniel Smith for Social Watercolor.  The theme today was Texture.  She brought a number of items with which to experiment and play around with texture and watercolor.

Paper is provided; stencils, string, sponges, bubble wrap, tooth brushes…. all for experimenting with textures.

There are also lots of partial tubes of paint to try.

Jodi’s stencil texture

What I did today…

I did it a bit but I’d also had a previous hands-on demo on the subject. I brought some photos from which to work.  It’s a very convivial atmosphere. Painting, talking, sharing.  I worked from one of my photos of an interpreter at Fort Nisqually.

I then had a 2 hour break before the Long Pose session at The Conservatory in Georgetown.  Got a sandwich for lunch and then sat near the Trailer Park Mall for another sketch of that unusual location.  I’m not as satisfied with this one as the one I did two months ago.  I did get to see a large, old car back into those chairs, recently vacated by a young man.  Fortunately, no one and nothing was hurt.

GregRobin portrays Ben Franklin in a one-man show.  Today he simply sat as our model.  The set up was a little disconcerting for me.  I’ve never done a formal long-pose session.  People were setting up tall oil paint easels right next to the stage. If I was to sit at a table to watercolor, I wouldn’t be able to see the model. So I just pulled up a chair into an empty spot and claimed some real estate.  However, I only stayed half the time and did one sketch.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Drink and Draw, Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Art All Day

  1. I am deeply envious when I saw the shot of those boxes of paints!

Leave a Reply

