Home Gallery and culling my sketches

As I think I’ve stated here before, I have an ever growing pile of sketchbooks.  My shelves have reached capacity, unless I can get rid of other things.  I also have no one to which to bequeath them.  My solution:  give individual sketches to family and friends who want them.  Those remaining will become part of my Art Abandonment project(s).

Today I culled through most of my 2012 and 2013 sketchbooks.  I am keeping the first two sketchbooks after joining Urban Sketchers, though.

I’ve made a gallery of sorts on the walls of an interior hall.  No daylight to fade the sketches.  My plan is to rotate the display as I distribute those hanging.  I’ve used removable plastic hooks, string and tiny clothes pin clips.

I created a Flickr album:  “Available to a good home… among my family and friends.”
https://www.flickr.com/photos/redharp/albums/72157670043127335  The ones I’ve chosen for the album are the sketches I think are good enough to go out into the world as originals.  Most of them are small.  M y usual sketchbook size is 5.5 x 8 inches.  There are a lot that didn’t make the cut!

If you have a Flickr account, just comment on the image if you want it.  If you don’t have a Flickr account, comment here with the name.  My naming convention starts with the date (2012 0721), then a title (WA State History Museum).

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Art Abandonment, Journal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Home Gallery and culling my sketches

  1. miatagrrl says:

    Bravo for doing this, Kate! I don’t think I’m ready to do it myself, though I’m certainly in the same position you are in terms of lack of space and heirs.

    Tina

    • redharparts says:

      I’m getting what feels to me like a huge response. A few people are asking for 3 sketches and I’m not holding them to any limit! My cousin asked for 4! A couple are popular and have a few requests but the early bird gets the worm.

  2. Claudia Kaneshiro says:

    All your sketches are great! My favorite is 27Sept2013 North Sound Church Edmunds, WA. If claimed already, I also like 10Aug2013 House boat ship canal Fremont, WA. I hope you will make more sketches available.

    • redharparts says:

      Thanks, Claudia. They are both yours. I’ll mail them to you! That church is just down the street from Rick Steves’ travel shop. His home is in Edmunds.

  3. Pingback: Art Re-Homing project | Red Harp Arts

  4. Marcey says:

    I was wondering how to display my single pages paintings. I like your idea of string and some sort of clip. I will be implementing this.

Leave a Reply

