Star Trek!

My friend from Portland is still visiting.  We went to the Science Fiction Museum to see the “Star Trek: Exploring New Worlds” exhibit.

Aside:  I consider myself a member of the Science Fiction Museum, not the EMP (Experience Music Project).  I am very interested in the former and care very little about the latter.   The only special exhibits I visit there are on the Sci Fi Museum side.

I watched the Original Series (TOS), as a teenager, on a black and white TV. I didn’t care for the character of Kirk. Spock was my favorite character… probably of all time , followed by CPT Picard from TNG.

My favorite series in the Trek universe is The Next Generation (TNG), followed by Deep Space Nine (DS 9).  I watched Voyager for a while and really wanted to like it because of the first female Captain, but stopped watching after a couple seasons.  I only watched Enterprise for about a season.

It was an excellent exhibit.  Nearly all the artifacts were “from the Paul G. Allen Family Collection”!  He must have quite the geek’s paradise warehouse! My impression was there was more from TOS than other series.

This timeline graphic was prepared by Cornish students.

I did one sketch.  This is the bridge from TOS: the command chair and the Dr. McCoy costume.  Kirk’s costume was to the right but I left it out (see above)!

All the photos:  https://redharp.smugmug.com/MKB/2016-0711-Star-Trek/
Info on that album: as a public service to other fans, these are uploaded full resolution and without restriction for downloading. Please give credit to “MK Buike”.

We also viewed “The World of Wearable Art” exhibit.
https://redharp.smugmug.com/MKB/2016-0711-WoW/   There’s some wild and crazy stuff there.  I think my favorite was Lunanoia by Jane Ewers, made of stainless steel mesh.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

