Tyranny of location

There hasn’t been anything much here for 2 weeks as I’ve had a cold.  I was only really miserable a day or two.  After that, I was just listless and then developed a secondary sinus infection.  So I’ve not felt like going out to sketch.  But I started to feel an itch to sketch.

As I said, I was feeling marginally miserable, so couldn’t quite get the motivation up until a couple days ago.  I did this sort of journal-like sketch.  I thought the heart shaped potato chip was charming gesture.

After reading the Doodlewash blog where he’s drawing everyday for World Watercolor Month, I need to remind myself that location sketching isn’t the end all be all.  I also need to remember the lessons of Sketchbook Skool, which are similar

I came back to art because of Urban Sketchers.  I really, really enjoy finding places to sketch and doing so in the place and the moment.  What I need to remind myself is even when I don’t feel like going out, there are plenty of things around the house and yard to sketch.  Not everything I do needs to meet the criteria of an Urban Sketch!

That said… I’m feeling better and there will now be a flurry of posts.  Just had a good outing today!  I’m scanning and editing the images and photos and will write the blog post soon.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Daily Sketches, Journal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tyranny of location

  1. Hope you ard feeling better now. I know what you mean about USk, I also feel guilty if I ‘m not drawing on site! I have done world watercolor month and settled for painting all my objects in my display cabinet, which has worked really well. Just one more day to go but as I am visiting family in another city, I have been painting things in my sister-in-laws cabinet instead. Love the heart chip.

Leave a Reply

