Art Show

This was an all day event for Urban Sketcher Tacoma.  First, we had a sketch outing in and around the main library in Tacoma.  I hung around the library and only went outside to do one sketch.  This is a small gargoyle guarding the Clock Tower Square.

As usual, we met to share sketches and have a group photo.

Then we held the opening reception for our Tacoma Urban Sketchers show in the afternoon.  There were 26 artists and 81 framed sketches! When I first walked through in the morning I was so impressed by how good it looked!  There were a number of competing events around the region but we did get a steady stream of people dropping in to look around.  Several seemed interested in joining us for sketch outings in the future.

My “Astronauts on the Town” project poster and a couple Museum of Flight magazine article featuring my sketches were in a case.

My group of sketches (we were allowed 3 each)

There are lots more photos of smaller groupings of the framed prints here:
https://redharp.smugmug.com/SketchOutings/2016-0806-Tacoma-Main-Library/

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Art Show

  1. Looks like a great show of sketches!!!

Leave a Reply

