Sketching in between

Today I had 3 separate appointments in Tacoma, separated by a bit of time each.  I brought my big sketch bag so I could do some sketching in the open time.  I wanted to sketch Stadium High School but didn’t find a good place to park at mid-morning.

While driving around, I passed this church, found parking and sat on the grass across the street.   Once home, I learned it was designed in the Classical Revival style by noted as well as prolific Tacoma architect Frederick Heath.  It was built between 1908 and 1911.

After picking up my art from our Urban Sketchers show at the Tacoma library, I drove out on Ruston Way on my way to drop off some items at Fort Nisqually.  I stopped at the park to eat my lunch and then sketched Fireboat #1.  It was built in 1929 for the Port of Tacoma by the Coastline Shipbuilding Company of Tacoma, Washington.  She is 96 feet 6 inches long with a 21-foot-6-inch beam and a 6-foot draft.  This was another to cross of my list of “I want to sketch that sometime”.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sketching in between

  1. miatagrrl says:

    Great perspective on the columns! Bravo! That ship is quite formidable!

    Tina

  2. Great job on both of these. Glad your sketching bucket list is getting shorter.

Leave a Reply

