Parallel watercolor play

Jodi Steele organizes the Watercolor Socials at Daniel Smith Seattle.  I really like going as it is such a pleasant diversion.  Today was a little less social in that everyone seemed intent on their paintings and there was less chatter than some other sessions.  I don’t mind chatter as I spent at least half the session waiting for washes to dry!

My title, “Parallel play” comes from a term in child psychology… playing comfortably alongside each other but not playing together.  I joke that my husband and I do that a lot as we are both in the same room but doing different things on our computers.  Today’s watercolor session was a little like that.

Jodi puts out everything needed to paint:  tubes of Daniel Smith watercolors to try, papers, rinse water, brushes, salt.

Did I say tubes of paint to try?  Oh, yes.  I found a new one to buy:  Zoisite Genuine, a dark green/black primatek.

There is even coffee and snacks.  With the theme, there was pumpkin spice coffee creamer.

Today’s theme was fall colors.  I’d come prepared with my own photo(s) I planned to use to paint.  But Jodi printed one that was compelling in it’s mood and hints of autumn colors.

In process:  waiting for washes to dry.

So I wandered around and saw the Daniel Smith sponsor poster I made for the West Coast Sketch Crawl.  Frances B. and I had written thank you notes on it and gave it to Joe, who put it on the bulletin board.

Almost done:

8×10 Fabriano Artistico 90# watercolor paper; Daniel Smith watercolors

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Class, Sketches, Studio and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Parallel watercolor play

  1. Wonderful! one of my friends from work told me about a similar type of workshop near me that I might look into to try. What a great way to get into the autumnal mood!

  2. D. Abreu says:

    This is lovely and sounds south Fun! I wish I lived closer. I think twice before driving to Seattle but I definitely have to go to this place some day. 😃
    Daisy

Leave a Reply

