Parking Day

Urban Sketchers Tacoma participated in Parking Day in Tacoma on Friday.  “What’s Parking Day” was one of the frequent questions.  “PARK(ing) Day is an annual worldwide event where artists, designers and citizens transform metered parking spots into temporary public parks”.  Frances did the work to get us a spot and brought all the stuff for our park… fake grass, tables, chairs, sun umbrellas, etc.

We were there in our red shirts.  Marjorie came all the way from Kingston after learning about us from our blog but she had to leave early.  I had a really good time talking to all our park visitors about Urban Sketching.  There were several people who seemed quite interested in joining us in the future.

I started a sketch of the view down the street but then a huge, white, SUV pulled into the parking space right next to us.  Well, that’s what happens to Urban Sketchers!  I didn’t finish that sketch as it stayed over 2 hours but I did sketch what I could see over its roof!

I only got one sketch done as there was a lot of interacting with our visitors.

More photos here:  https://redharp.smugmug.com/2016-0916-Parking-Day/

And… I almost forgot to take note:  Friday (Sept 16) is my 4th Anniversary as a correspondent on the Urban Sketcher Seattle blog.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketch Crawl, Sketches and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Parking Day

  1. What a fun idea! I love that you sketched what you could see above the van. That is one of the drawbacks of urban sketching. lol

Leave a Reply

