Day 4: Lake Louise

We arrived at Lake Louise on Tuesday night.  First thing the next morning, we we went out to Lake Louise and the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise.  Impressively large hotel but a rather plain facade.

Himself walked as far as he could along the path along the lake.  I stopped to do a sketch.

Several people talked to me while I drew.  Two men from Calgary asked to take my photo.  One of them said, “You should go straight to canvas!” by which he meant he thought my work was good enough it should be in oil.  Harumpf.  When I told Himself this, he suggested I could have said, “only if you haul my kit!” I carry enough now, but the plein air oil kit is a level of magnitude more!

After the walk, we had lunch in one the hotel restaurants, mostly in order to look around inside.  There were signs posted, “No entry except for hotel and restaurant guests”.  They didn’t want the hordes of tourists walking through.  The lobby was not as grand as I expected.

We had our first poutine, which is the classic Canadian dish of french fries, cheese curds and gravy.  It was quite good…. eventually determined it was the best of the trip.

Many photos:  https://redharp.smugmug.com/MKB/2016-0928-Lake-Louise/

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 4: Lake Louise

  1. I so like this post and your blog! Nice photos as well, I followed you and I’m looking forward to reading more of your posts 🙂 It would be nice if you can check out my site too. I wrote about Lake Louise too. You can check it at: https://theycallmekri.wordpress.com/2016/10/17/my-cousins-wedding-at-lake-louise/ Thanks and have a good day 🙂

Leave a Reply

