Day 6: Back to Banff

It’s 1 October.

Himself wasn’t interested in doing much that day.  He was happy to stay in the room to read and listen to podcasts.

I decided to go back to Banff to do some sketching.  First, I walked through town again
to choose my sketch subjects.  My first one was this church, which I’d noticed on our previous trip. I am very partial to Gothic! It is St. Paul’s Presbyterian Church.  This building was constructed in 1930, designed by Calgary architect D.S. McIlroy in the “High Victorian Gothic Revival Style with Tudor details over stucco”.

As in Seattle, there are medallions indicating the street name.  I was quite partial to this one as Himself is known as “Wolf”.

As I moved on down the street, I was fortunate to encounter some First Nations dancers!  They were performing in the town square as part of Banff Buffalo Days.  I stopped to watch a while.  I sketched one of the women who sat still!  I didn’t get as much done as I’d planned as they finished and she stood up.  When we were invited to meet and take photos, I spoke with her.  She is Edna Bad Eagle.  I asked about the name of the troupe and she said there really wasn’t a formal troupe…”just call us Deerfoot Banff”.

Even thought the weather in Lake Louise was unpleasant all day – chilly and raining – in Banff it was sunny and warm.  So I had some ice cream at “Cows”.  I laughed at the tip jar:  “Cow Tipping”.

I next sketched a typical Banff street corner with views of mountains.

A few more photos are here:  https://redharp.smugmug.com/MKB/2016-1001-Back-to-Banff/

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 6: Back to Banff

  1. Pam Jenkins says:

    In North Brunswick NJ, on the Douglas Campus of Reuters, the state university, the high school kids actually go out on Saturday nights and tip over the cows in the agricultural school fields. Just an other reason not to be there.

  2. miatagrrl says:

    Looks like it was a great road trip! Thanks for sharing all your sketches and photos. Greg and I have talked about road tripping on a very similar route. .. hope to do it some day.

    Tina

Leave a Reply

