Days 8 & 9 homeward bound

Monday, 3 October, was our last day in Alberta.  After we checked out of the hotel, we went for a ride on the Lake Louise Gondola.  At first, I didn’t want to go as I thought it would be so cold at altitude.  It had been 27 degrees that morning!  But it was such a perfectly clear day, it seemed like we would have a fantastic view on the mountain.

It was so cold on the ride down, I kept only my shutter finer outside my mittens!

Lower red circle indicates the gondola station.  The top one is the Fairmont Lake Louise hotel.

Once we left town, it wasn’t very long before we hit a snag.  We were stopped for at least 30 minutes for construction.  I sketched the line and the mountains in view.

We drove the 5 hours back to Kamloops to stay one night to break the journey home.  That evening, we had our dinner at this fast food place next to our hotel.  I think it is unique to Canada, so we wanted to try it.  It’s the “Triple O White Spot”.    I liked the building, so I sketched the view from the parking lot.

The next day we drove 5 more hours home.

Photos: https://redharp.smugmug.com/MKB/2016-1002-Takakaw-Falls/

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Photography, Sketches and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Days 8 & 9 homeward bound

  1. joantav says:

    Kate, welcome home! I just read through all your posts and looked at your sketches and photos. What a wonderful way to document your trip…it looks and sounds like it was fantastic!

Leave a Reply

