Sketching in the Rain

It’s not as much fun as singing in the rain!  But six hardy sketchers came out during the storm to sketch together around Columbia City’s Landmark District. The day was so dark, the street lights remained on the entire time we were there.

This is a neighborhood south of Seattle that has been gentrifying over the past several years.  It is just 30 min from where I live so I go there a couple times a year to sketch the interesting old buildings.

I found an overhang under which to shelter while I sketched the Columbia City movie theater across the street.  It was the neighborhood’s independent move theater but it closed in 2011.  After a lot of work to bring it back up to code, it reopened in December 2012.  It was formerly a Masonic Lodge

I finished the sketch just as the rain came down harder and started to slant in on my sheltered location.  I decamped for the library, where it was warm and dry.  It’s fairly small so  I sketched some details of the molding and window.

This branch of the Seattle Public Library is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.  It is a Carnegie library, designed by Seattle architects W. Marbury Somervell and Harlan Thomas in the Beaux-Arts, Georgian Revival style. The Columbia Library opened Dec. 30, 1915.

We gathered back together at Geraldine’s cafe to share sketches and have lunch together.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketch Crawl, Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sketching in the Rain

  1. D. Abreu says:

    Nice sketches Kate!

  2. Glad your hearty sketchers made it out despite the weather. Hope the storm wasn’t too bad and that you made it through OK.

Leave a Reply

