Dirty Bird

Well, that was a first!  During the Urban Sketchers Seattle outing to Greenlake Village neighborhood, a bird pooped on my sketch board!  I was sitting under a tree, though.  Fortunately, it missed me, my sketch and my palette.  But, ugh!

Tina had suggested the Carnagie library in Greenlake and that was my chosen subject.   Frank Ching was sketching in front of me so I put him in the sketch.  A new sketcher came up to me to talk a bit.  As Frank left, he asked (perhaps with a bit of awe), “Was that Frank Ching”?

The historic branch is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and has been named a landmark building by Seattle’s Landmarks Preservation Board. It was designed by W. Marbury Somervell and Joseph S. Coté and opened in July 1910.

This sketch is done on Arches 140# watercolor paper.  Normally, I use Strathmore Series 500 Mixed Media which is 90#.  In the past few months, I’ve liked every sketch I’ve done on Arches.  Maybe I’ll switch and use it regularly.   It does take more room in my sketchbook as it is thicker.

It was such a nice, sunny day that we shared our sketches on the plaza of PCC.  Then had our group photo in the sun.


There seem to be one or two sketchers missing from the group photo.

Afterward, Jane, Tina and I met over lunch to work out a plan for the next few monthly outings.

Wow.  WordPress informs me this is my 1000th post!  That’s a milestone!

A few more photos here:  https://redharp.smugmug.com/SketchOutings/2016-1023-Greenlake-Village/

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketch Crawl, Sketches, Urban Sketchers. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Dirty Bird

  1. Congrats, that’s some posting milestone. I think many bloggers run out of steam before reaching 1000! 🎉

  2. miatagrrl says:

    Yay, congrats on your 1000th! I’ve enjoyed them all. Too bad about your bird encounter! A nice sketch of the library, though, so it was worth it.

    Tina

  3. D. Abreu says:

    Congratulations on your 1000th posting! 😆 it seems you had a great sketching day, nice sketches.

  4. Isn’t bird poop supposed to be good luck? lol Congrats on the milestone. Great job on the building and the fellow sketcher. Nice!!!

    • redharparts says:

      I’ve not heard it’s good luck. But maybe we could consider it an Urban Sketcher (or plein air) right of passage. We joke that you’re not a REAL Urban Sketcher until you’ve been asked to leave a location. A friend was standing on the sidewalk in front of a building and was asked to leave. ?????

Leave a Reply

