Happy Halloween

Finished cards.  What follows is a description of how I made them and a free graphic.

I attended a lettering demo by Janice Berkebile at Daniel Smith a couple weeks ago.  She happened to mention she scanned, printed on an ink jet printer and then painted her letterforms.  I was surprised to learn ink jet doesn’t smear when painted with watercolor.  Also a little annoyed with myself for not having tested it but I’d previously had an ink jet print smear in the rain.

I decided to make some Halloween cards.  I drew a design based on a fabric print.  I scanned it and then printed it on watercolor paper.   (feel free to right click and save this design to make your own cards)

I painted over the design on 8 cards.

   

I cut them out and glued them to some plain white cards and created a message for the inside using MS Publisher, as above in the first image.

Happy Halloween.  “Wishing you more treats than tricks”!

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy Halloween

  1. Susan Torkelson says:

    WOW! Wonderful project! A treat for us all!

  2. Great idea! I’m always afraid the thicker paper will get stuck in the printer.

Leave a Reply

