Fountain Pen Day

Happy Fountain Pen day!  Today is Fountain Pen day.  And I give you another hack.

Goulet Pens just started carrying this inexpensive Nemosine Singularity fountain pen with a #6 nib.   Now, I don’t really quite understand the numerical system for nibs.  My favorite pens for writing and drawing are Lamy Safari in EF and F.  I have a set of interchangeable nibs.

Anyway,  I had an idea for the Nemosine and it’s #6 nib.  Noodler’s makes a #6 flex nib.  I posted a comment on Goulet Q&A asking whether the Noodler’s nib would work on this pen.  One of the staff answered that they didn’t know but might give it a try.  I went ahead and ordered the pen and the Noodler’s nib.  I did my own swap and it works fine.  I don’t see a lot of flex, but it’s Ok.

I write daily in my journal (more of a “Commonplace book”).  It’s a Circa notebook from Levenger.  I use a Lamy Safari fountain pen.  The link goes to Goulet Pens but Daniel Smith Seattle store now has a limited selection.  The UW bookstore did have them but not sure whether they still do.

That's the hairband elastic from yesterday's hack.

That’s the hairband elastic from yesterday’s hack.

My favorite inks:

DeAtramentis Document Brown (for writing)

Platinum Carbon Black (for my sketchbook).  It’s permanent and it dries in a flash so I can paint over it with watercolor.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in KIt and Supplies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fountain Pen Day

  1. joantav says:

    I use the Platinum Carbon Black too for the same reason.

Leave a Reply

